Making the Macy’s 4th of July type

Macy’s approached me to create some light writing typography to publicize their annual 4th of July fireworks celebrations in New York. As if it needed any more publicizing 🙂 I was a little hesitant at first as it’s a technique that I’ve seen done to to death but, I reasoned that if I could come at it in a different way, then I could justify it. And I’m glad I did.

Borrowing from and building upon the learnings of the Graffitti Research Lab, I purchased dozens of LED bulbs, magnets and lithium batteries which allowed me to create endless varieties of LED arrays along a bar of metal. I also purchased strip lights, strobes, LED tapes and other items to allow me greater variety in the stroke width and intensity.

Inspired by classic geometry of 1920’s Broadway style fonts, using long exposure photography I set about creating a tool kit of the basic parts of typography. All in all I took around 500 shots of straight lines, circles and semi circles along with some more energetic scribbles and then began to fashion the individual letters by layering up my images. Each letter is completely unique and utilizes, on average, around 11 photographs plus some adjustment layers.


I’m really happy with the final piece. It has a lot of energy and it’s nice to work with some color for once. I’m sure anyone in New York will be seeing a lot of this in the coming weeks so, look forward to hearing your thoughts.

_ C

