More fun with folds…

Further to my folding poster idea, I attended another AIGA Small Talk last week, this one by a talented chap called Jesse Auersalo (http://www.jesseauersalo.com). The son of a photographer, he was always more aware of light and tone than the average 8 year old. He began his ‘weird monologue’ with the question ‘What casts a shadow: light or an object?’ and proceeded to share his childhood experiments with cutting and folding paper. Experiments that have informed and found their way into his present day work. Inspired by this, I decided to set about creating my own experiments, with a more typographic bent obviously.


After some playtime with real paper, like Jesse I moved onto the computer and I began to set my rules. In this case; I would create the letter and reflect it on itself creating a ‘type butterfly’, in this case similar to the piece I created for Bunch a couple of years ago. The letter would then be folded back on itself, and in half again. The cap A for example, would end up looking something like the above.


And the alphabet as a whole, would then look something like this. This gets particularly fun when setting type as your letters can start to overlap and play into one another.

Literally no idea what I’m going to do with this. I suspect it’ll live in my mental bottom drawer until such a time as is appropriate to bring it out. Regardless, a nice distraction…

