The Envy List 2011

I often get asked who inspires me, and there’s no easy answer. I take inspiration from everywhere. What I find easier to answer is ‘Who’s work do you envy? Who makes you jealous?’

Envy is an odd sensation. It occurs “…when a person lacks another’s (perceived) superior quality, achievement, or possession and either desires it or wishes that the other lacked it.” It overlaps with jealousy also; a misfiring of electrical signals in the brain, leading to feelings of anger, resentment, sadness and disgust towards another person.

It’s a pretty negative emotional state but as far as I’m aware it’s a pretty universal emotion. Very few people are completely immune to it

And yet… from this mire comes something good. A desire to be better. At least on my part. The folks listed here have all made me jealous at some point over 2011. I’m not ashamed to admit it. And it’s compounded by the fact that, of the people in the list that I’ve met, I can testify that they’re all extremely likeable people. You really don’t want to like people who make you jealous

A lot of what I see in their work is – what I incorrectly perceive as – effortlessness. Of course, that’s not the case. They all work just as hard, if not harder than anyone else. The red thread, however; the quality that joins all of these artists and image-makers together is a confidence and a belief in their work.

So, without further ado and presented in no particular order, the talented fuckers that have had me frowning at my screen over the last year…


Carl Burgess
Website
Twitter


Jonathan Zawada
Website
Facebook


Mario Hugo
Website
Twitter


Kyle Bean
Website
Twitter


Jo Ratcliffe
Website



Tom Darracott
Website
Twitter


And that’s it. Well, that’s not true, there’s a lot more people I could mention here but I wanted to keep it vaguely focussed. Be interested to hear your thoughts , and I wish you all an excellent 2012.

_ C

